300 reasons I would vote for used gym socks if it would keep John McCain out of office

September 19, 2008

Reason #103

Filed under: Anti-Semitic,Palin — 300reasons @ 6:09 pm

I’m a little late on it, but this post from Thoughts From A Rabbi is worth reading in its entirety.

Apparently Sarah Palin was present when her church recently had the director of Jews for Jesus speak there.

Some of you may be unfamiliar with Jews for Jesus, so I’ll summarize. They’re a bunch of anti-Semitic Christians who go around trying to convert Jews to fundamentalist Christianity, primarily through deceptive advertising and overly aggressive pamphleteers. I don’t know about the Jewish voting bloc in (ahem, swing state) Florida, but my Jewish friends are not what I would call fans of the JFJ approach.

Palin did not walk out or protest when the speaker said the following:

Our Father in heaven, We stand before You as a people who’ve experienced Your grace, and we acknowledge that that grace was first extended to our people through Your people, the Jews; that there is not a one here in this room who would know Jesus and serve Him if there had not been a Jew, generations ago, that spoke Jesus’ name to our people. Father, that comes full circle and we wish to extend Your grace back to Your people. And we pray and we ask that as a result of this time here, and as a result of this offering, there will be people among the Jews today who come to say the name “Jesus” with faith. In His glorious name we pray, amen.

Okay, so she thinks Jewish people (and probably all non-Christians) are going to hell and need to be converted to Christianity in order to be saved. That’s not a big deal, right? I can’t imagine a belief like that have any impact on her policy decisions. Nothing to worry about!

She also remained silent and still when the speaker went on to say:

But what we see in Israel, the conflict that is spilled out throughout the Middle East, really which is all about Jerusalem, is an ongoing reflection of the fact that there is judgment. There is judgment that is going on in the land, and that’s the other part of this Jerusalem Dilemma.

In other words, G-d created the violence in Israel as judgment for Jewish peoples’ failure to be Christian.

Personally, I would march my ass out of church if someone said such a thing in the pulpit.

So why didn’t she?

4 Comments »

  1. I’m a Jewish believer in Jesus. You have quoted two sentences of the six-page transcript of David Brickner’s message, giving the false impression that he is saying that a bulldozer attack by a deranged Palestinian is God’s judgment on the Jewish people. Here is a direct quote from David Brickner of Jews for Jesus regarding his remarks at Sarah Palin’s church: “The comments attributed to me were taken out of context. The notion that the terrorist, bulldozer attack in Jerusalem this summer was God’s judgment on Israel for not believing in Jesus, is absolutely not what I believe. In retrospect, I can see how my rhetoric might be misunderstood and I truly regret that. Of course I never expected the kind of magnifying glass scrutiny on a message where I was speaking extemporaneously. Let me be clear. I don’t believe that any one event whether a terrorist attack or a natural disaster is a specific fulfillment of or manifestation of a Biblical prediction of judgment. I don’t believe that the newspaper should be used to interpret the Bible. The Bible interprets the Bible. I love my Jewish people and the land of Israel. I stand with and support her against all efforts to harm her or her people in any way. Please feel free to read my further explanations on the front page of our website, both in my article and in the interviews I did with Christianity Today and NBC.”

    Comment by msieger — September 22, 2008 @ 3:46 pm | Reply

  2. Thanks for the link and for talking about this important story.

    Comment by 1rabbi — September 22, 2008 @ 6:17 pm | Reply

  3. msieger,

    There is no such thing as a Jewish believer in Jesus as the Messiah. Sorry. I’m a theology student working toward ordination, and that argument ain’t gonna fly with me. It is grossly disrespectful to Jewish people, who should be allowed to define their own religion and its limits. I know of no Jewish person, be they orthodox, conservative, or reform, who would say that fundamentalist Christians can be Jewish.

    The very premise of Jews for Jesus smacks of the “replacement model” of Christian dialogue with other traditions. In other words, you think that (fundamentalist) Christianity is superior to all other religions and must replace them. I find that to be a very hateful approach to other traditions, particularly Judaism, which has been so persecuted by Christians over the years.

    I would further argue that, especially in view of the Jews for Jesus replacement model philosophy, Brickner meant exactly what it sounded like. My belief is that he simply didn’t expect his words to be heard by a wider audience and to be relevant to a presidential race where the Jewish vote is quite important.

    Comment by 300reasons — September 22, 2008 @ 10:01 pm | Reply

  4. 1rabbi,

    Thanks! And thank you for bringing it to my attention!

    Comment by 300reasons — September 22, 2008 @ 10:01 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

